Rolled Ribs?

Paul Balzotti

TVWBB Fan
Hi Everybody,
I am new to the WSM. I used my new grill for the first time last weekend and made chicken. With the holiday this weekend I am making baby back ribs. I have bought 6 racks. I was reading the capacity specs on the site and am wondering what they mean by rolled rib racks. Any help would be great. I am also planning on doing some sausage and Chicken breast. My friend is coming over with his smoker and doing a turkey. Going to be some party on Sunday.

Back in the late sixties - early seventies, I was a grad student in Kitchener-Waterloo in Ontario, Canada. There used to be a German pub - huge place with four separate dining rooms depending on how classy you felt. They made a dish called rolled ribs that we students would go and eat all the time. A rack of ribs was laid flat and bread type doughy seasoned stuff was pressed on top of it. It was then rolled and baked. I know, Q sacrilege, but to die for. And, for $2.99 you got a rolled rack, dish of cole slaw, and a slice of buttered white bread. The place was called the Breslau Inn, and I'll never forget it.

Happy Q'ing.

I do back ribs all the time...just put 6 racks on yesterday and got rave reviews from the neighbors that were here for the afternoon. I always roll 'em and hold them together with a skewer, and the 6 racks fit perfect.

Well I made my ribs. Everybody was happy and contect. They came out fantastic. Took a really long time. I just couldn't seem to get the heat right. I finally got it at 225 and let it cook. Came out fantastic. My frend made a turkey also and that came out very good.

Congratulations. Six rack of BBs cost half as much as the WSM. No wonder you were a bit nervous.

How long did they end up taking? Did you foil them?