Quick Minion Method Poll.

JeffB

TVWBB Pro
How many lit coals do YOU start with?

I've tried 1/2 chimney, full chimney, and something in between. The other day I heard a suggestion to use only about 10 to 15 briquettes which seemed a bit low to me. But I'm also a NewB, so what do I know???
icon_biggrin.gif

I did try to start with just a few once but had a difficult time getting them to light with my chimney. I think the answer to that is to flip the chimney over so the "shallow" end faces up and put in more newspaper.

Jeff - something that may help when lighting only a few coals for a Minion method start is to use 2-3 sheets of paper towels with some cooking oil or jelled alcohol fuel as is used for warming/chafing serving dishes.

I will usually take 3 sheets of paper towels, wadding up one end until it is about the size of a golf ball, then cover the top of an open bottle of vegetable oil with it, and turn it over carefully, so as not to spill oil. Then, I keep wadding the paper towel ball and covering the top of the oil bottle, and add a little more oil each time for a total of 6-7 times. When you are finished, the ball should be about the size of a tennis ball and it will light as many or as few briquettes as you need.

As a bonus, this method leaves barely any ash residue unlike newspaper does.

As a bonus, this method leaves barely any ash residue unlike newspaper does.

Thanks, that's good to know. I am currently lighting on my gas grill and the grill itself is getting filled with newspaper ash which is NOT making my wife a happy camper.
icon_eek.gif

I keep saying I'll clean it out but hopefully I haven't messed it up permanently.

Oh, yes, one other thing I was wondering about.

Is there a typical number of lit coals that are needed in a 22.5 to get up to 225 degrees? In other words, if I use as few as 10 lit coals (for example) is there any chance that the temps will not get up that high?

Just curious what others have found.