Pulled Pork

Dom R

TVWBB Super Fan
Purchased two pork shoulders @ $0.79/ lb.... I thougth it was a great deal. Now I have read that for pulled pork, the butt (bone in) is the best part of the shoulder to use. I have two shoulders but I have no idea if they are picnics or the butts (or maybe one of each) because the label just says "Pork Shoulder". Being a total newb of PP.... I had no idea that there were two parts to the shoulder and never asked the meat manager what cut they were.
Anyway, they are 8 lbs each and both have bones and skin on one side. Can anyone tell me how to identify what cut I may have? I would take pictures but they are now frozen rock solid in the deep freezer. Regardless if they are picnics or butts, I am looking forward to finally making PP.....as soon as the rain and wet snow stops. Thanks

Dom,

The weight you describe leads me to believe you have butts, but the skin on indicates 'picnics'; the lower portion of the leg. In my area, butts are sold no skin and usually bone in. Either way, you should be able to smoke what you have successfully. The picnic has a bit more connective tissue and fat. The picnic is smaller than the butt, but you have nothing to compare this to...

Note the differences in general shape here.

And here's another pic of each.

Great score by the way; .79/lb
icon_eek.gif

Paul

If it's anything like what I got at the local food basics (SE Scarborough), it is most likely the shoulders. As mentioned, don't worry as they both make good finished product. I resisted the urge to buy at 89c/lb as the thought of my wife exploding over the full freezer was enough to sway me from the course. When I went back at the end of the week and there were a bunch of 10#ers with $4 off coupons I couldn't say no... Yup, I got 20lb of shoulder for about $8.75....