Producing Smoke Flavor on Weber 435

Mike-BBQ

TVWBB Member
I am new to the Weber 435. Easy carry over experience from my old Char Broil for the basics of direct and indirect cooking. Is there a reliable way to produce smokey flavors or even do ribs reasonably well on the 435? In the past, I have tried smoke boxes, smoke tubes, but none really produced anything reliable or good flavor. My old El Cheapo Brinkmen has died. I could get a new dedicated smoker, but was wondering if I could do some smoking on the 435.

Honestly I have done very well with simple foil packs. I use either pellets or chips, I keep a spare or 2 loaded and handy as well. This gives me the ability to keep the smoke rolling.

I used the v shaped smoke box and filled it with wood chips previously, but lately I have been experimenting with the smoke tube and pellets and it is very easy to do and creates a lot of smoke. Either way has worked well for me.

I guess I would have to say that if you aren’t happy with the results from a smoke box or pellet tube on your gas grill, you probably need to add a smoker or kettle to your arsenal or, for more convenience and reliable results, a pellet grill. @Bruce has said grills are like guns: there are different ones for different purposes.

I use a ss smoke box and rotate out chips every so often-seems to work well. Sometimes combine some cherry with apple and hickory for more complex smoke flavor