Please help...

M Merrill

TVWBB Member
I have been smoking shoulder, baby backs and chicken for over 2 years. Though nearly everything from the WSM turns out excellent, my shoulder lacks taste internally.

My fuel is Kingsford Blue with a few apple chunks. I am currently using a simple finishing sauce of chicken broth, bbq sauce and butter. What can I do to get that WOW flavor throughout the final meat?

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Merrill

Merrill,you can sprinkle rub onto the meat after you have pulled it,then mix it up to distribute the flavor throughout the meat. This will boost the flavor some. You could also inject. I've done it with hot sauce before. Some people swear by injection. HTH,and keep up the good wotk.

the easiest and most effective method would be to apply a finishing sauce to the meat after pulling.

If you desire the pulled meat to remain unsauced, then you are going to have to consider some kind of injection.

Salt is really the best flavor enhancer. Try shooting your shoulders with a brine. Don't over do it because you might end up with ham. But if you can properly season the pork, you might like the outcome.

I like to inject pork butts if I have time. I use 1 cup cider vinegar, 1 cup apple cider, 2T of my rub.

Since you're already applying a finishing sauce but still need "WOW" then you're using the wrong finishing sauce.
icon_wink.gif

Search the Recipes section or just wait for the sauce gurus to come along with their awesome sauces.

Injecting or marinading are options as well.

I use Kevin K's finishing sauce and sprinkle lightly with rub when pulling (also Kevin K's... butt rub for Jane).

Everyone raves at that combo.

Ron

Thanks for the great replies...

I've thought about injecting. Any suggestions of recipes?

How much rub do you add to the finishing sauce?

Also, I have been experimenting with many different rub recipes. Though I haven't found the "winner" yet, I am having fun with each of them.

Merrill

Merrill,