Paper or foil?

Hawk Redhawk

TVWBB Member
Newbie here to BBQ & Smoking. I’ve watched a lot of Videos and read a lot different stuff to ty to speed up my learning curve. I’ve noticed at some people wrap with aluminum foil and other wrap with butchers paper. Is there a particular reason why one chooses one over another? Do you use paper with some meats and foil with others. What are the pros and cons of each?

Thanks in advance for your replies and thank you all for being so forthcoming with information for us.

Sometimes the paper us softer on the bark. Foil being a bit harsher. Of course foil can be useful in holding fat and loquid. Even usi g a pan and covering it with foil.

Foil I've seen most used for pork recipes in order to somewhat "braise" the meat. It will help keep it moist and hold liquid, but will soften any bark created. Good for use with 3-2-1 ribs or finishing a pulled pork butt. Foil is also best if you want to add any liquid to the wrap like honey, butter, or apple juice.

Butcher paper used most for beef products like brisket or beef ribs. The paper lets the meat "breath" and the bark will hold up better, while still speeding up the cooking process. I wouldn't recommend adding any liquid when wrapping.

I supposed you could used butcher paper for ribs or pulled pork but I wouldn't add anything before wrapping.

Hope this helps!

One thing to be aware of with butcher paper. Some are coated. If it's a high temp coating like a silicon, it may be okay to use in a smoker. If it's waxed, I would not use it in a smoker at all. Personally, for brisket, if I wrap, it's in "peach" uncoated paper (halfway between kraft packaging paper and bond printer paper.) The TVWBB Overlord started a thread here on butcher paper recently.

Edit: https://www.tvwbb.com/threads/3-way...-paper-from-the-substitutes.81755/post-903203

Last edited: