New to Smoking: Pulled Pork Question

Rich Petroske

So, I was given an 18" WSM a few weeks ago and I've been having a lot of fun with it. The first weekend, I did 3 racks of ribs and they turned out great! Last weekend, I did 2 whole chickens and they turned out great as well. This weekend, I'm jumping into a longer smoke and going to attempt to do pulled pork.

I'm a little nervous about it because I'm new to charcoal cooking and with the longer cook time I fear there is more time to make mistakes.

First question is when do I put it on? It's a 3.5 lb Boston Butt and I'm looking to eat around 5. The reading that I have done leads me to believe that I need to put it on in the middle of the night (about 3am). Which then leads into the next question of: How long will it need to cook?

Any other advice that you can offer is greatly appreciated. I am really excited about getting into barbecue as a hobby, but I'm still so "green" that it's quite overwhelming.

Any chance you can go get a larger one (6-8lbs) ? One that small is going to cook quick and won't be a good as a full size one. What you have is a piece of a butt, much like a big country style rib.

With a roast that small, you're only looking at a 5-6 hour cook.

Most full-sized butts I get are in the 10-11# range but my butcher sells halved, bone-in butts and they cook up just fine, so I'm not sure if I share Glenn's concerns about it not turning out well. What I think is more likely is that you'll be upset with yourself for not cooking more!

I’m new myself I did my first pp last Sunday 5.6 lbs… it went on at 5am took it off at 4 wrapped it and let it rest an hour.. came out great so that’s right in the range of 1.5 – 2 hours per pound so 3am for you might be a bit early.

so I'm not sure if I share Glenn's concerns about it not turning out well.