My Story with Questions

RichieNJ

TVWBB Fan
So this past Saturday I decided to do 2 racks of St. Louis ribs and 5 links of hot sausage on the bottom rack of my WSM and on the top rack about 15 wings. I kept them all on for about 5.5 - 6 Hours at about 230deg. This is the first time I used water in the bowl (just because I wanted to try it) While I really enjoyed what came off I couldn't help but to think that the food was kind of dry. So this leads me to few questions.

1) Is it a bad idea to put an assortment of food like I did all at once?

2) I used the minion method and with all the vents wide open I couldn't get the my igrill temp over like 235deg. Could this be because I had water in the bowl? It was about 45deg out so I was really surprised as to why I couldn't get the temp past 235deg. Not at ANY point during the cook. I'm still a newb (5th cook).

I appreciate your views.

Richie

It's not bad at all to do it at once. You had a few issues.

You overcooked the sausage and wings.

I smoke ribs at 275 and it will make a better product.

Try it with more hot coals, with hot water, or no water at all.

I'm with Alan on temps for ribs, when I do them around 225 they seem to dry out more. At least that is my experience.
As for your temps a lot goes into how the temps rise and fall. What charcoal, humidity in the air and in the charcoal, how tightly they are packed together in the ring.
I'm sure there are others.
I don't use water, I use a sand gravel mix in the bowl and it is foiled on top for easy clean up. Works very well. If my temps are not steady rising with vents wide open then it says to me the coals are not catching fast enough. Usually I watch the smoker and when it gets to around 190 I start shutting down my vents on the bottom to slow it and be able to set it where I want.