My First Overnight Brisket

John K BBQ

TVWBB All-Star
I did my first overnight brisket on my 22" WSM. I didn't get that many photos, but overall the brisket turned out great. This was probably my 5th or 6th brisket in my own yard on my own smoker, so I'm still learning. Here's what I did; I bought a 14.3 lb, prime packer brisket at Sam's Club, and on Saturday mid-morning, I put a fairly aggressive trim on it. Most advice says try to leave a 1/4" of fat layer where you can, but I tend to cut too deep (lack of practice), so I ended up trimming most of the fat it off. After trimming I put a heavy coat of salt on it and put it on a wire rack over a sheet pan and stuck it in the fridge. About 8 PM, I took it back out and put a bunch of fresh ground pepper on all sides and to let it set out to get closer to room temp before putting it on the smoker.

I lit my coals (using about 90% Rockwood lump and 10% Kingsford original) around 9:30 PM. I dumped about 3/4 of a large chimney in the middle of my charcoal basket, and assembled the WSM with the fire dial, and connected the Thermoworks/Billows ATC all set for 225F. The temperature overshot by about 50F so I put a 9 x 13 aluminum pan, about 2/3 full of tap-cold water on the lower cooking grate to help cool things off, then put the brisket on around 10 PM, and a 9" x 4" x 4" oak chunk in the fire basket and crossed my fingers. I stayed up for about 2 hours and watched a movie and kept half and eye on the temperature, and luckily it locked in at 225 with the with the cold water pan and cold brisket in place.