Membrane on Back Bone Side of Ribs

George Payne

TVWBB Fan
Do any, most, or none of you remove the membrane off the back of ribs before a smoke ? I was taught to always take it off, which adds a bit of prep time. Some get down right contankerous and I use my paper towels and pliers to pull it off. It never, of course, just comes off in one nice piece, it breaks and I have to start fresh again to get it off. Some recommend to forget about it and leave it on.

What's yall's thinking on leaving it on, or taking it off ? I want the best flavor I can get, even if I have to spend more prep time doing it.

Thanks for any input.

I take it off because I read that the rub doesn't get to the meat with the membrane on. I'm no expert but I believe those that are.
wsmsmile8gm.gif

Thanks Lew. A good point i've heard from others. With that said, I've had others say once the meat get good and hot the membrane is going to crack and peel away and it's really not that critical to take it off. I didn't tell my wife, but I tried a rack of spare ribs with the membrane on and she never noticed the difference. To be honest, I forgot I left it on and they tasted wonderful to me also. I hope to get some more responses, and I really appreciate yours.

I remove the membrane by chilling the ribs in the freezer for a while before working on it. It's harder to do when they're room temp.

That said, I have just cut the membrane between each bone to minimize the "tough" effect after cooking.

Doz-at make sense?

Yeah,they are a tough nut to remove,but that's the way Pammi Sue likes 'em! I use a butter knife to get 'em started,the pull like crazy with a paper towel. Sometimes they come off in 1 piece,sometimes not.

I think it's better to take it off, I had a little rib-off with a buddy who left it on and his ribs were tough because the membrane was holding on to the meat. A little extra work is well worth a great rib!!