Kingford blue vs comp. briquettes.

Gary H. NJ

TVWBB Platinum Member
Now that I have plenty of Kingsford blue (original) briquettes (c/o the Walmart coupon), I was wondering if anyone noticed an off taste to their smoked meats using the stuff. I usually use Kingsford competition, which is additive-free.

I'm new to using the WSM; however, I've been grilling with direct and indirect heat for years using ole' blue and I've never noticed an unpleasant aftertaste and I've never gotten any complaints.

what you have is not the original. its the second comming of the stuff and to me it was terrible. some like it and others don't. i don't.

I like the Blue Bag Kingsford for its price, consistency and uniform size. I have used Lump before, but I like Kingsford better.

I've never noticed a bad taste from blue bag. That said, The flavor imparted from CompK is far better. (to me) I recently did a cook on blue and was harshly reminded of why I use CompK.

Brett

Use lump for short high heat cooking...use <span class="ev_code_BLUE">K</span> for all else...no negative aspects noted
wsmsmile8gm.gif

K Blue is OK if you let it gray over. Do not add fresh to a cook. Comp is a better mix in that it has a much higher wood content and not the same fillers. Me I use lump or natural briquetts.

Lotza guys use <span class="ev_code_BLUE">K</span> for comps and I think most use it for minion start WSM cooks....i do...it does have a disagreeable odor when you first lite the chimney...but the food, for those of us who use it, comp or otherwise, tastes great
icon_confused.gif

I personally think that K gives off an undesirable smell when it is first burning, and I was using the Minion method which just made things worse. I picked up a couple bags of Stubb's at Lowes yesterday that I'm gonna try on Saturday.

I wish I would have read this before buying 20 bags of blue! OMG. I did get the great deal thanks to the coupon.