I'm Cooking My 1st Brisket this Weekend & Could Use Some Advice

Roger R.

TVWBB Fan
I bought a nice 13.20 lb Prime brisket at Costco yesterday. I've never done one before this, as I always concerned myself with the long cook. With the help of my DigiQ, I am now ready to tackle the project.

I understand pretty well about trimming the fat; putting the meat temp probe in the flat; dry rub & possible injection. I am not certain about when to begin the cook.

Am I correct that around 5 - 6 hrs into the cook the internal temp should be about 160º and ready to wrap tightly in foil? Then another 5 or 6 hrs until the IT is 200º. At 200º wrap in towels and put into a cooler for another 2 or 3 hrs.

If all that is correct - at what IT is it ready to eat during the cooler time?

Also, is everybody actually getting out of bed at the 5 hr mark to foil these briskets?

The timing and length of time has kept me from making this jump, all these years.
Any tips from you are appreciated!

My advice, take it or leave it.

1. Foil unnecessary. Others may disagree. I've never used foil.
2. Don't over trim the fat. It helps keep the meat moist and you can trim it before eating.
3. Meat temps will vary depending on the temp you are running. I've done a high heat 17 lb brisket in 7.5 hours and nailed it. I've also undercooked a 13 lb brisket cooking at 250*.
4. Time in cooler may vary. 2 hours okay. 3 hours okay. Just depends on when you want to eat and what time it is. I'd give it at least 30 minutes to rest, preferably 1 hour+.
5. I like starting around 12am and then going to sleep. I find this a good starting time because it gives you plenty of flexibility to cook until done, and hold longer in cooler if cooked sooner than expected.
6. Do NOT worry about overcooking the point. It's fatty and you are not going to over trim the fat (see number 2 above). Cook until the flat is ready (probe passes through like hot nail through butter) and let the point "come along for the ride."