HH Method - Trouble maintaining temp

Brent Berwick

I've done a few high heat cooks on my 18.5" and I always have trouble getting to and maintaining 325. I start with a full ring and light a full chimney. I've tried lump and briquettes. I keep all vents open and have to keep the door propped for the entire cook. One thing I've never tried is removing the water pan altogether - I normally just foil it with no water. I've read that some people do this but it seems like it acts as a heat shield to provide better indirect heat. I live in Southern Louisiana, so its warm (80 degrees) when I'm cooking.

What am I doing wrong? Am I not letting the fire build long enough before assembly? One thing I noticed is that the water pan is almost touching the coals when I start with a full ring and full chimney. Is it smothering the fire?

I'm a newbie myself, but the first thing I would do is remove the water pan completely and use a clay saucer "wrapped" or a pizza tin "wrapped" in its place. This would allow better airflow and still provide shielding.

Try flipping your charcoal door upside down and leave it open at the bottom. This will allow extra air to enter and may help you get your temp up.

I've read about the clay saucer and may try that, thanks.

I'm already flipping the door and having to leave it open for the entire cook, still topping out around 300.

High heat to me is around 275 to 325. Trying to maiintain that temp for long will just fustrate you. Temps will go up and down so don't try to micro manage the temps.