Help with water pan touching coals...

Mike WSM

TVWBB Member
I'm a newbie cooking on a 18.5" wsm. I'm having trouble keeping the temps down. I've followed Harry Soo instructions on seasoning the cooker.

I've cooked chicken which I let get to 325-350. Wife likes crispy skin, and it turned out great.

Tried ribs for the next cook, and couldn't keep the temps below 300. Rib were dry, but still good. I think my first problem was usin too many lit coals to start the fire. It was about half my weber chimney. And I filled the Ring 3/4 full of kingsford blue bag.

Using a maverick 732 to measure grill temps.

But I'm curious, on both cooks, my foiled but empty water pan is touching the hot coals cause it's so deep. Does the fact that its touching make it less useful as far as deflecting heat?

My wife will give me the evil eye I I spend any more cash on smoking, so I'd rather not buy a brinkman water pan cause id have to buy it online and she would see the package. I can probably get away with buying a clay pot, cause she won't see it, and it's only 5$ or so anyway.

Well, you want to buy the brinkman charcoal pan and then put a foiled clay saucer in it. The pan is cheap.

So were u guys having trouble with keeping the temp down, and that change made the difference??

At first I did it to have more water capacity. Since I never actual used the pan it came with. This site recommended not to use and get a brinkmann part.

I use about the same amount of Charcoal in my 18.5 WSM as you Mike when I do BB ribs. Maybe a little less, ( A 3/4 full chimney and about the same unlit in the ring.

EDIT: Re reading your post Mike, yea, having lit coals touching the pan sounds to me like you have too muchcharcol in the ring. use less, or spread it around. You don't want the pan touching the coals.