First Smoke on my new 22 WSM

David-SoCal

I have been using a pellet smoker for a couple of years and wanted to step up my game. So bought a new 22 WSM. I tried to smoke a single rack of St Louis Ribs this weekend. Overall, the results were just OK. There was more smoke flavor but the bark was overdone. Observations:
* I did the minion method with Kingsford Pro Briquets (Costco). Buried 4 smallish chunks of Oak (Home Depot). It took about 40 mins to get up to 225 per the Weber Temp guage. Lots of white smoke. Never really seemed to turn blue. Pretty much white until the chunks burned out. I added a couple of chunks later on top. Not as much white smoke. Maybe next time get the WSM up to temp then throw on the wood?
* I suspect the dark bark was due to the higher temps. I kept it at 225 which according to some of the bloggers is probably closer to 240 at the grill. I can't see how that would blacken the bark at those temps. Maybe I am actually at a higher temp. Had the water tray filled so there was no direct heat and plenty of moisture?
* Lots of white smoke seeping out around the front door panel and top lid. Going to spend more time bending the front door panel to improve.
If I was to guess at possible mods they would be a better temp gauge (see above) and wheels (really hard to move around).
Recommendations appreciated.

The WSM should seal itself after some time.

You might try closing the bottom vents a bit and opening the top vent slightly.

Since smoke is coming out the door you might have more intake air than exhaust.

keep cooking and practice and you'll get it.

The WSM should seal itself after some time.

You might try closing the bottom vents a bit and opening the top vent slightly.

Since smoke is coming out the door you might have more intake air than exhaust.

keep cooking and practice and you'll get it.