First rack of ribs

Steve P. (Timmee)

TVWBB Member
Well, I put my Weber OTG to work for the first time (I'm a barbecuing newbie), and did a rack of baby back ribs. I ended up cooking them at a hotter temperature than I planned, but I thought they turned out great. Here are some pics I snapped towards the end of the process (I forgot to grab my camera until the ribs were almost done).

Foiled, with the temp probe in:
1002685k.jpg

Just off the grill:
1002686g.jpg

On the plate, with Cheddar Garlic biscuits and cheesy rice and broccoli:
1002687t.jpg

So, how'd I do? Any suggestions for next time?

Those look darn good!!
I used to use my OTG for lots of indirect cooking.
Try closing your bottom vents a bit and keep your lid vent wide open.
Use less charcoal to keep the heat down. Once those kettles get hot it is hard to get the temp down...start off with a lower temp and it will be easier to keep it that way.
Nice job on those ribs!!

Originally posted by ScottE:
Those look darn good!!
I used to use my OTG for lots of indirect cooking.
Try closing your bottom vents a bit and keep your lid vent wide open.
Use less charcoal to keep the heat down. Once those kettles get hot it is hard to get the temp down...start off with a lower temp and it will be easier to keep it that way.
Nice job on those ribs!!

Ah, I wondered if I had too much charcoal in there (I filled the space behind the firebricks almost to the top of the grate). Next time (which will hopefully be very soon
icon_smile.gif
), I'll give that a try.

Great looking results. Your biscuits also caught my attention. How about sharing your recipe, they look like something I would love ft try.

Mike

Originally posted by Mike Freel:
Great looking results. Your biscuits also caught my attention. How about sharing your recipe, they look like something I would love ft try.

Mike

Well, I can't really take credit for those, they're from a Bisquick mix.

510S2419D2L.jpg