Drill bits -- Titanium vrs Black Oxide ?

Lynn Dollar

TVWBB Emerald Member
My drill bits are a mess. Over the years I've accumulated a set here, a couple there, etc ............ and now , I seem to never have the size I need and a lot of sizes I never use. If I do find the right size its too dull to do a lot of damage.

So I'm shoppin and it appears to me its cost efficient to just buy another set , rather than the pieces I need. Not being a contractor, I don't make a living with a drill using one every day , so I'm wondering if it really makes a diff if I spend extra for titanium or for a brand name like Dewalt. I see a lot of good things said about the Bauer tools sold at Harbor Freight . And Ryobi at Home Depot is priced well also.

If your not using them every day all day then a bits a bit.:)
You can get some nice sets on sale and they are cheap enough to replace.

Am in a similar boat...
I have a good set of titanium but many need sharpening or replacing. I have considered a sharpener but getting a good one is open to opinion.

I watched some reviews on yootoob and there are some decent sharpeners but in the 100-150 range depending on model.

If you have bullet point bits? Those are hard to re sharpen. I know some Ironworkers that can do it by hand with an angle grinder.

Remember titanium bits are not made of it they're coated. Same with black oxide. Once the bit is dulled and yo attempt a sharpening you simply grind off the surface and the bit is still no good.