Doing my first ABTs tonight and somewhat confused need a little guidance

Rich Dahl

R.I.P. 7/21/2024
I did do my homework about ABTs but methods, ingredients and cooking temps are all over the map. Most of you seem to do yours on your WSMs at lower temps which would be wonderful if I had one. Of course I could use the mini, but my cook for tonight is going to be on the gasser sans smoke and run about an hour or so, longer is not a problem if needed.

My question is I just want to try a few with a little cream cheese and maybe some onion and garlic and of course bacon to see if the wife (not a big fan of a lot of heat) and I like them, so can I do them on the grill medium heat (300-325) or am I wasting my time?

As always thanks for your patience and any suggestions you might have.

EDIT

See results below.

Last edited:
Rich this is what I would suggest, but I'm no expert. I have cooked ABT indirect on my performer so you don't need a WSM. The cook is a balance of getting the bacon to a crisp that you and enjoy and not destroying any of the other ingredients. Honestly the highest I would go is 250, but that is me and maybe you're able to do it at a higher temp. Of course I add wood for the flavor, IMO nothing captures the taste of smoke like cheese does. I've also heard of people using sweet peppers for those who don't like the heat.

I have done ABT's on gasser or kettle though I prefer WSM. Biggest thing is getting bacon done but not to fast to destroy your wonderful filling. If it was me I would go low at first to get jalapeno/cream cheese warmed then at the very end go direct to crisp up bacon.

I make mine with 1/2 jalapeno, cream cheese, little smokey then wrapped in bacon....