Cloth Bread

BFletcher

TVWBB Honor Circle
You know I'm a novice at breadmaking. When I do it, I proof in a basket with a cloth liner but the flour picks up the pattern and it looks weird. Can I lay a sheet of parchment paper in the basket, or should I do something else? Thx

20210418_170013_2.jpg

You know I'm a novice at breadmaking. When I do it, I proof in a basket with a cloth liner but the flour picks up the pattern and it looks weird. Can I lay a sheet of parchment paper in the basket, or should I do something else? Thx

View attachment 26387
Whatever your doing looks fantastic. I don't use a basket at all. I just proof on parchment paper like you and then it makes it easy to put in and take out of your Dutch oven.

Fletch, I agree with Joe, whatever you are doing, it looks excellent! I use a "tea towel" (otherwise known as my wife's kitchen hand towels....which annoys her) to lay my bread inside my banneton/proofing baskets. I dust the towel lightly with a 50/50 mix of rice and WW flour. It works well for me, and the only pattern I seem to get is a very light transfer of the basket itself. I tried using the bannetons with just flour (no towel), and while it worked just fine a lot of time, it only takes one stuck loaf to really ruin your baking day!

As to your question, sure, you can use parchment to line your proofing container (banneton, basket, bowl, whatever). I would expect that the bread will stick to it, though, so I would be inclined to proof it with whatever side you plan to score facing up in the basket (or, if you just let the natural seams burst open, then just that "bottom" side from shaping would face up.) Transfer your loaf directly from the proofing container to your DO, pop on the lid on into the oven. Should work out just fine!

Or....keep doing what you're doing and just eat the "weird" towel marks! :) Seriously, though, that's a lovely loaf of bread!

R

It seems like some of folks gave up on using them.