brisket.... piece?

Becky M-M

TVWBB Pro
i have been wanting to make some brisket for a while now.... but feel really intimidated by it. and it is about twice the price of a butt so it would hurt more if i messed it up.

i found a small package at the store today that said, Brisket Trimmed. it is pretty small, about 2.5 lbs i believe. i know that it is not a true brisket.

can i play/practice with this? or is it already not going to turn out well because of the cut?

disclaimer: though i have never made brisket, i am originally from Texas.... so i know what i am looking for.... just dont know how to accomplish it! lol

You may have seen my post looking for advice on a full brisket so I am a brisket rookie. But my research tells me that a 2 lb'r is a challenge. I would smoke for a short time and foil at 160 with broth until done

Again, I don't speak from personal experience but learnings from reading

For 10 bucks or less what do you have to loose

But to me a 2 lb'r is a steak and not going to feed a family
icon_smile.gif

been on here for a couple of hours and found some info on these baby briskets.... not good though.... seems there are so small they are doomed to be jerky.

i grabbed it because of its size... wanted to practice with it. but it seems like i should have held off for the real thing.

i was going to cook it up with a bunch of other stuffs for Saturdays game.... baby brisket... pork steaks... chicken....moinks.... stuffed baby peppers....

no... im not over-extending myself at all.
icon_wink.gif
icon_wink.gif
icon_wink.gif

Been there and done that. A while back I came across a 4lb partial brisket flat reduced at the store and thought I'd see what the deal was with these little pieces of beef for myself.