Another Free Genesis 1000 LX

Roy-Parallax

TVWBB Pro
I'm new to this world of grilling. Picked up a CharBroil grill for free last year and fell in love with this way of cooking. My 7 year old has become so fond of grilled food, he won't eat chicken, burgers or steak cooked any other way. The CharBroil is nothing to write home about but it's gotten the job done.

The CharBroil looks better than it is. Stainless on the outside, with features like a warming tray (which we never use) but not high quality. It doesn't cook evenly and isn't built to last. Was a great tool for finding out what grilling is about and discovering it's something we appreciate. Given its limitations, was thinking it probably time to find a better grill. When I was scouting around last year, it quickly became obvious Weber has a great reputation. The newer ones come up for sale on Craigslist but people seem to want a lot. So I did a bit of reading and there seems to be some consensus that the deep box of the models before the Silver series were well designed and built to last.

Last night I found one for free. Will have to take some better photos. These were snapped quickly so I could get assistance from the Weber tech determining the model and whether it appeared to be in reasonably good shape. She said it's a 1000 LX. I have the bar and slats from the bottom. Pulled them off just to get the grill up on the deck and haven't taken a moment to put them back on yet. I really like the red lid. The inside is quite filthy, it's missing a valve knob and the fake-wood slat tray to the left. The igniter doesn't appear to work. I can't hook up a tank to see if the valves leak because it's got some weird connector I've never seen.