Amount of smoke diminishes after about an hour?

Derek O

TVWBB Member
I have been smoking for about 4 years now and I have noticed the amount of smoke the wsm produces diminishes quite a bit after about an hour.

I don't mind this when I cook chickens or turkey since they don't need a lot of smoke anyway, buy I like a really intense smoke for pork butts, ribs, and Brisket. I have started using an Auberf ATC for about the last year and a half and I have noticed this doesn't help. Since I usually set the temp control at 220F, the fan doesn't blow a lot of air in to keep a decent smoke going. I usually put water in the water pan which I think I may stop doing.

I know I have read on here that after the smoker gets going the smoke will start to look clearer, but even knowing that it just doesn't seem like it smokes that much after about the first hour. The temperatures holds fine for the life of the smoke, and I know the smoke wood burns up.

Think it would be better to run the first part of the smoke warmer so that I get a bit more air flow out of the ATC? Usually I try to run around 220 to keep the meat in a smoking range temperature a bit longer.

Only reason I even bring this up is because my neighbor and I both smoked ribs. He has an electronic smoker which I wouldn't ever use, but his ribs had a lot more smokey flavor than what mine had. I could see white visible smoke coming out of his the whole time, whereas my vent turned clear after about an hour. Anybody have any thoughts?

You want thin blue smoke not a white cloud coming out of you pit. You are doing fine, maybe you just need to add a few more wood chunks. You are using chunks and not chips right?

Visible white smoke is NOT a good sign. That means either water or dirty (cold) fire.

John's right, you could be using too little smoke wood chunks. For even a short cook, I'll use a minimum of three fist sized chunks. If it's going to be a butt or brisket then it's 4 or 5.