All nighter with some new gear

Andy Kaminski

TVWBB Pro
Hi there guys & gals.
I am just starting an all night pork shoulder on my wsm 18 with a new DigiQ DX3 controller.

I’ve never used a temperature controller before and never thought I really needed one until I saw embers coming out of my wsm on my last all night cook and it wasn’t even real windy just a draft did it.
Having the bottom vents closed is much safer for me in my situation.

My deck looks bad.
I plan on water jetting it/ re-straining it in a couple weeks.
I will be replacing it with probably Trex or something similar when I build my outdoor cooking area next year.
I’d sure hate to replace the old deck or my house due to fire 🔥.
That would really suck.
So I got me this controller to be safer.

My setup sure needs some fine tuning.
I think I’m going to get a battery pack for this unit and a Tupperware chinga to clean this up.
What do you use to tidy up all the wires?
Being that this DigiQ doesn’t communicate with my iPhone or give me a chart I need to use my inkbird as well.

Tonight I’m doing this pork but at 225f with a deep dish pizza pan full of water, using Kingsford pro with apple and pecan chunks.
If it was a day cook I’d cook it around 275f.
I’m using the water pan to help keep the temp low but I’d rather not because of the clean up.
Do you think this controller can keep the temp at 225f without the water?

It’s running good so far.
Here’s a couple pics.

Attachments

• IMG_1110.jpeg
    IMG_1110.jpeg
    173.7 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_1118.jpeg
    IMG_1118.jpeg
    169.5 KB · Views: 32
Wood decks are tough smoke on. I found a pad I can put under my WSM on Amazon that has another layer of protection. The thing you got to watch for is not the top of the deck catching on fire it's underneath where all the dried leaves and other crap get stuck. Might be worth it wet that down that area just to be safe.

Wood decks are indeed tough.
I am still kinda new to them and this place.