22.5" Kettle Wing Capacity?

ChadVKealey

TVWBB Pro
I'm cooking up a few things for a "Cub Scout Pack Committee Meeting" on Sunday and trying to plan out what I'm cooking where and when.

The first thing I'll be starting (which I've never done before) is a beef shoulder muscle. I figure that will be on my WSM for most of the day Saturday (starting ~7:00 AM).

I'm also making wings. I buy them as full wings, in packs of 30, and trim the tips (for stock-making later on); usually I don't split the flats from the drumettes, but for this, I might. My concern is how many I'll be able to fit on the kettle at one time. I think splitting them will give me a bit more flexibility for arranging them and maybe I can get them all on in concentric rings around the outer edge. I don't have a vortex, but I have an old grill wok I use to keep the coals in the middle of the grate.

So, is 60 separated flats & drummies on one kettle realistic? I suppose I could do multiple batches if needed, but since it's not the only thing I have to do on Saturday, I'd prefer to do 'em all at once.

I've got about 35 on there in this pic. 60 will probably be tough, depending on how much room your wok takes up. You may have to rotate the ones that are closest to the middle.

Ok , if ~30 is the reasonable limit, I'll just cook two batches of 30. I'm thinking of leaving them whole, too (well, other than lopping off the tips). Or, I might do one batch on the kettle and one on the top grate of the WSM.

I have 40 items here, half stuffed japs and half wings. The japs took up a little more space. Let us know how you do it.