1st two butt BBQ underway

Mark Maral

TVWBB Member
Well, after yesterday's storm the weather has cleared up nicely. No rain or wind so
this morning at 2am I put two 9.5lb butts on the WSM. This is my first attempt at doing two pork butts. On one I used Chris Lilly's injection and rub recipe. The other one got a coating of Texax BBQ original rub and no injection. This is what I used on the first one I did a few weeks back and everyone like it.
As of 4am the lid temp is at 230*

I'll post pictures later today

Mark

The aroma that is sent into the air is worth all of the effort. I have said it before, I almost would rather smell BBQ cooking than eat it. lol

So I guess you really liked TB Rub?

Mark -

I'm sure things are smoking right along. It really isn't any different to do two butts than one (or to do three or four for that matter). I like the Lilly recipes, too. Always a lot of flavor mixed with the great taste of the pork.

Dale - its funny that you mention that you had rather smell BBQ cooking than to eat it. I'm like that, too. I get to enjoy the smell of the BBQ cooking for hours and hours, and the eating takes only a few minutes. I find that whenever I cook the BBQ, I actually eat less of it!

How's that for a diet program!!

Pat

It was great this morning; clear sky, cold morning and the smell of the warm BBQ.
I'm using 3 smallish chunks of apple and 1 of cherry.

Well, with the Tx BBQ rub I bought a bag of it as something to try as a first timer. I thought it tasted pretty good. So, this time I thought I'd try something different with the Lilly's rub and injection so I could do a comparison taste test. My brother who does a lot of BBQ will be here for Thanksgiving so I want to see what he thinks of these two plus he's bringing me some of the rub that he makes up for me to try next time. I think the experimenting with different rubs, etc. will be part of the fun for me.