WSM legs on a 22” kettle bottom?

Nick-DaGoomba

Has anyone ever mounted legs from a WSM onto an extra kettle bottom they had? I have an extra bottom and was looking to make it into a fire pit. Received and idea from someone on the WKC boards to mount wsm legs onto it which I really like.

I’m new to modding and wondered if anyone tried this before. Thanks in advance for any tips.

I've never seen it done. It could probably be hacked together pretty easily, but to do it well would require some precise measurements and drilling of holes to get the three legs arranged at 1/3 intervals at exactly the same distance from the rim so it sits and looks perfectly level.

The price of legs might be the issue. I found a set online for over $60, not sure what Weber charges for them. You're looking for Weber Leg Kit #63023.

For less money, you might try using the existing bowl sockets and adapting a Weber kettle leg kit.

Are WSM legs made for high heat?
I've measured the bowl at over 700*F, so the points at which the legs connect probably reach the same temp. Legs are thick aluminum, which supposedly melts at over 1200*F. Should be OK but I'd try to keep fire centered on a charcoal grate to the extent possible.

I've never seen it done. It could probably be hacked together pretty easily, but to do it well would require some precise measurements and drilling of holes to get the three legs arranged at 1/3 intervals at exactly the same distance from the rim so it sits and looks perfectly level.

The price of legs might be the issue. I found a set online for over $60, not sure what Weber charges for them. You're looking for Weber Leg Kit #63023.

For less money, you might try using the existing bowl sockets and adapting a Weber kettle leg kit.