Wednesday Morning Smoke w. Pics

Bob Porter

TVWBB Member
This summer has been fantastic. While I considered purchasing a smoker last summer, I killed the idea. But I caught the bug earlier this summer and have been having a blast. I went from having a POC Char-Broil gasser that is rusted, half the burner is out, the vaporizer bar has . . . ummm . . . vaporized, etc. to a WSM and an OTG. Life is good.

Being a public school teacher, I am not confined to weekend cooks right now (although that is quickly coming to an end).

Anyhow, I put on two butts last night at 10:20. Eleven and a half hours later they're still going. It is like a fall day out and the coolness and the breeze have affected things a bit. I have plateaued at 165.

The WSM is holding temps much better than my earlier cooks. Essentially it's been bet. 225 and 250, although I had a spike about two hours in to 300. I always seem to have that spike.
icon_frown.gif
Other than that things have been running smoothly.

The bone does not wiggle and I recently checked the temps with an instant read just to double-check. Using the Renowned Mr. Brown. A little piece just happened to break loose on the turn. Nice and peppery. I am looking forward to these.

Summers are good. More photographs to follow.

butts.jpg

Funny because I was thinking of smoking something today too. The weather here in NYC is Octoberish, expected high is 79 degrees with a nice mild wind. I don`t stop smoking because summer is over, as far as I`m concerned, smoking and BBQing is the only way to cook so... its an year round thing for me.

Fourteen hours in and still holding at 170. For the past five hours I have been 165 to 170. I have basted, checked with various thermometers, etc.

It goes to show each cook is different. Meat is beginning to loosen up a bit on the last check.

I actually had to re-fuel. I need to re up on this. This is the first time I have had to do that. What is the best way to actually get hot briqs into the WSM?