Weber Performer Meltdown

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laf

TVWBB Member
Hi all, new to the forum but not, by any means, to the website! Just a heads up. I have what appears to be a 2000 Performer w/ Stainless Steel table and 5 pound tank. Anyhoo, grilling some sausages last week w/ lump, went in to get something, and 5 mins later I came out and the nylon lid damper handle had melted and run down the side of the lid like a lava flow. It is now a hardened on mess! Just wanted to put that warning out there. FYI, my warranty ran out (even though I bought it in 2005, it was a 2000 model) but, after a few emails back and forth, Weber is sending me a new lid free! Just another reason they're an awesome company. Be careful out there, melting nylon plastic is no joke! Also, on a side note, I am not a novice by any means and have been using the grill for almost 5 years so I dont think it was user error.

I would love to see some pics of this. I work for one of the biggest plastics producers in the US, we make glass filled nylon too. The melting point of our glass filled is 489' F.

I have often wondered if a rip roaring fire would melt the handles. Sounds like you proved it possible!

Hey there Jay B. I will gladly post some pictures. Any advice on how to do so? When I click on the photo button it asks for a URL. I have no idea how to do it. Anyway, it seems as if your predictions are correct
icon_smile.gif

Oh, I guess if you want to email me I could take and send you a few pictures of the catastrophe

Laf, you first need to upload the image to a image hosting site like photobucket.

That must have been one heck of a fire you had going, were flames shooting out of the top damper?

Thanks for taking the time to post the pictures. Im going to have to share these with my buddies in the lab. Im farily confident it is our product that Weber uses.