water pan, empty pan, saucer?

Rusty

TVWBB Member
I am new to the WSM. I have owned a 2009 18 WSM for a month or so now. I have cooked a few boston butts and had great results.
What surprises me is the amount of folks here that are using a clay saucer instead of the water bowl. I keep reading post after post about this. However, when I look in the polls section of this forum, I read where almost half still use the water bowl with water. There isn't an option to choose clay saucer in the poll, but still it is clear that a lot of folks still prefer the water bowl with water.
I am trying to figure out what method would be best for me. I will mostly do long cooks like 12+ hour cooks for buston butts and 6-8 hour cooks for baby backs. I am assuming that you can get longer cooks without using water. Is this true? My concern for these cooks using a saucer is the lack of moisture and heat control/temp spikes.
What are your opinions and experiences?