Wagyu brisket for the Superbowl: results with photos

Eric Simon

TVWBB Fan
Greetings! Thanks to a lot of advice and help from this forum, I successfully smoked a Wagyu beef brisket for the Superbowl. I was asked to post photos of the results, so here you go.

I mail ordered the Wagyu, and it arrived fresh (never frozen) in Cryovac, weighing in at 14.5 pounds:

P2060072.jpg

P2060077.jpg

The meat was beautifully marbled:

P2060078.jpg

P2060079.jpg

I have very little experience trimming meat, so I'm sure a few of you will be horrified by my hack job! Luckily, the meat was largely trimmed and didn't require much work on my part.

P2060080.jpg

I used a fairly basic rub (black pepper, kosher salt, smoked paprika, garlic powder, chili powder) and let it sit for several hours in the cold:

P2060082.jpg

I fired up the grill and midnight and let her rip!

P2070088.jpg

P2070090.jpg

The meat went on just before 1AM. I used the Stoker to keep the temperature around 225F, which was quite a challenge since it was 5F and windy outside all night.

At 6AM, I sprayed with apple juice, flipped, and turned:

http://i534.photobucket.com/al...mon/BBQ/P2070091.jpg

http://i534.photobucket.com/al...mon/BBQ/P2070111.jpg

By 2PM (13 hours in) the meat was 190F and fork tender, so I foiled it in a cooler for several hours to rest.

http://i534.photobucket.com/al...mon/BBQ/P2070130.jpg

I separated the point from the flat:

]http://i534.photobucket.com/albums/ee345/ericjsimon/BBQ/P2070136.jpg

I chopped the point. It had a wonderful soft texture:

http://i534.photobucket.com/al...mon/BBQ/P2070137.jpg

I sliced the flat using the guide cut that I made when trimming. The meat was tender but held together well for a thin slicing. And the smoke ring is pretty apparent!

P2070142.jpg

P2070141.jpg