Tools I Like

Jon Tofte

TVWBB 1-Star Olympian
OK, I am learning to understand a little about winter and why this board slows down so much this time of year. I have a little space heater in my shop, though, so I am still doing the little bit I can despite the onset of tax season and still many issues leftover from our move here.

Anyway, while I was working on a few small steps, I thought of posting about a few of the tools that I really like. I thought it might generate some discussion and suggestions. Keep in mind that I am a CPA and not a guy who has worked with tools all his life. So, my purchases tend to be Harbor Freight and probably reflect being a rank amateur!

First up is my admittedly cheap "China - I mean Chicago - Electric" cut-off tool. Yes, I took the guard off and realize that isn't the safest plan. But to get into tight spots - an almost constant need - the guard just doesn't work. I wear thick gloves and thick eye shield and/or a face shield. Also a mask since more metal dust flies around than what I would have thought.

Cut Off Tool with Milwaukee wheel.jpeg

I like this tool because it is small, light and the only solution to many rust-frozen on bolts and screws. I am not very professional, but I am slowly getting more precise with it. I have always used the cheap "Warrior" wheels. They desolve very quickly and the idea of them breaking apart led me to try a more expensive Milwaukee wheel you see here. I have only used once, so the jury is not in yet. However, it seemed to work a lot better and held up well. Harbor Freight does sell a better line of cut-off wheels, so I may try them next time.

Next in line are these specialty pliers:

Doyle Water Pump Pliers.jpeg