temp zones

Troy B

Howdy,

I have been using the WSM for about 5 years now and I love it. I also have to give this website and its contributors a huge amount of credit for helping me on my way.

I originally used a previous model of the 18.5" without a dome thermometer. I used a maverick et-73? to monitor the meat and the smoker temp at the top grill level.

I was given a newer model smoker with the thermometer. I am consistently seeing that the temp at the dome height is 20 degrees less then my probe temp at the top grill level. I can understand that zones would have different temp.

However, my question is "what would the temp be at the lower grill level consistently, if I use my probe at the upper grill level?" Would it always be hotter (closer to the fire) or cooler (closer to the heat sink of the waterpan)?

Thanks,
Troy

I've only cooked on the lower grate with water and found the temp to be lower. I think it may be hotter if you don't use water. That will get you thinking until an experienced Q meister gives a better answer.

Regarding temp zones, first think of an empty cooker. The highest temp is gonna be around the outside of the bottom grate between the cooker wall and the edge of the water pan. The lowest temp is going to be at grate center, bottom rack. That's obvious, but think of what it would be like to measure temps at different points in vertical spots above those two locations. The higher you go up the cooker wall, the temp falls. The higher you go above the center of the bottom grate, the temp rises some as it mixes with the higher temps. It's gonna be different right at the top of the dome though...higher at the dome vent for sure, but opposite that where a gauge would be the temp measurement is outside the stream of circulation so it's a little cooler there.