Smoked Salmon 2 ways

Ben E Lou

TVWBB Member
As I mentioned in my first thread here, pretty much everything I've learned about grilling and smoking has been by trial and error. I've never used any internet resources before now, so it's interesting to find out what I've been doing "wrong" in some areas. That said, friends and family have raved about my smoking prior to the purchase of the WSM 22.5 in late December, so I guess I've done *something* right. ;)

One thing that I've always loved and that others have said I do particularly well is smoked salmon. And in my reading here and at some other sights, this is definitely something that I've done differently from the mainstream methods, so I thought a little "test" might be in order. Therefore, I bought two, exactly the same size (2.68 pounds), and held my own "smoke-off." One was cooked the "old way", the other using a simple brine recipe I found online. (I've never used a brine for salmon before.)

OLD WAY
1. Smother in lemon juice
2. Moderately sprinkle with sea salt
3. Moderately cover with Old Bay seasoning.
4. Let sit 15-30 minutes in fridge.
5. Smoke it.

NEW RECIPE
1. Brine
2. Rinse & Dry
3. Let dry in fridge
4. Lightly salt
5. Smoke it.

So, on to pics.

Pre-preparation, both looked like this:

20130104_10.22.48.jpg

Here's the one done "my way" immediately after initial lemon juice, salt, and old bay:

20130104_10.27.27.jpg

Here are both of them after brining/drying the "new" way (left) and letting the old way one sit:

20130104_13.19.47.jpg

Fired 'er up with fully lit coals and six chunks of alder:

20130104_13.20.50.jpg

Used cut-away tinfoil:

20130104_13.23.47.jpg