serving for a group/party - when to slice? serving tips?

Phillip Moore

TVWBB Member
I'm going to be cooking for my daughter's first birthday party and we are having about 20-22 people over for a party starting at 11:30am, so I'm serving lunch. This is the largest group i've ever cooked for.

My plan so as not to be frazzled on day of party is to smoke the briskets the day before during the day, and re-heat the morning of the party. I'm new to the WSM so I'm not confident enough that I can hit an over night cook and have the briskets be done by noon and also be delicious.

I've seen conflicting suggestions about when to slice the meat.

Option 1, which I kinda like is to slice the brisket after its done and rested and then re-heat it the morning of the party already sliced in the oven, wrapped in foil with a little bit of liquid added to the pan.

Option 2, which I can see might produce a better final product, would be to put the whole cooked briskets into the fridge and re-heat them whole the morning of the party, and then slice.

Can anyone offer suggestions which way might be best? I've never done the re-heat in oven already sliced method. And how long would it take to re-heat 2 whole briskets and at what temp would work best?

My plan in either case is to get some steamer tray things to try to keep the food warm. I got a bunch of foil steamer inserts from Costco, but they didn't sell the actual steamer bits.

My planned menu is brisket, pulled pork (which i've already cooked and frozen), potato salad and baked beans.

Thanks for any suggestions!

I like Option 2 better. Pre-sliced brisket drys out too much when reheated.

Have you considered an overnight slow cook starting about 10:30pm?

Or a High Heat cook? Starting "meat on" at 6:30am, it should be ready to slice by 11:30am.