Saturday's BBQ Chicken

Ken_K

TVWBB Super Fan
I decided to try a high heat cook on my WSM since I have never tried it before. I bought a 12 inch clay saucer and placed it into the water pan and covered all with HD foil.

This was sort of an exercise to see how my cooker would perform with high heat in preparation for a high heat brisket run next weekend. So I loaded the ring as if I was cooking for that length of time. I "Minoined" the start with 40 lit. I used Kroger's brand briquettes -- which I assume are really Royal Oak with in a Kroger's bag. The temp came up nicely with all vents wide open. I was aiming for 325 and could tell it would stall out around 280 or so, I flipped the door and propped with my grill bush. That got it up to 325 and it stayed there for the rest of the cook.

I was very happy with the temp control and the chicken came out great -- pics below -- this was a confidence builder for me to tackle high heat brisket next weekend.

ETA: for the smoke wood I used two packets of BBQers Delight Cherry Pellets, was very pleased with the smokiness of the finished product.

http://img.photobucket.com/alb...ix/4-18-19BBQ001.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/alb...ix/4-18-19BBQ003.jpg

Just curious. Why the clay saucer if you're going for high heat? Was this just an experiment?

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Dave/G:
Just curious. Why the clay saucer if you're going for high heat? Was this just an experiment? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah I just wanted to see what it would do. I will probably leave it out from now on when doing high heat.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Dave/G:
Nice looking chicken. How was the skin? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>