Remote meat thermometer

Kevin L (NKY)

TVWBB Diamond Member
I am looking for a cost effective remote thermometer, so I can let the meat cook and not open the lid so often. I cannot justify a expensive one yet as I am still learning the slow,smoke,cook method. Any advice, or experiences would be greatly received.
Thank you.

One could argue that since you are learning you should use an expensive one. I bought a $35 Maverick a year ago, I use it for smoker temp then later in the cook I put it in the meat. It works great so far.

A good remote thermometer will help you learn much faster. You'll be able to see your meat and cooking temps at a glance and make adjustments accordingly. I have a Maverick ET-732 and at $59 it's one of the best investments I ever made.

I'm a fan of the Maverick ET-732 myself. I cook exclusively with a Weber 22.5 OTG and am able to maintain 300 degrees grill temperature for my ribs from start to finish with the help of the Maverick. The meat probe shows me when to foil a Boston Butt (I foil at 160 degrees) for excellent and predictable results.

Dale53

Originally posted by J Boldt:
One could argue that since you are learning you should use an expensive one. I bought a $35 Maverick a year ago, I use it for smoker temp then later in the cook I put it in the meat. It works great so far.

J what model is that and would you recaomend that one or a newer one if you were to buy today.
Kevin

I have the Maverick ET-732. It's very handy to have the wireless feature. Get to keep an eye on the temp while I prep non-grill stuff in the kitchen.

Ditto on the ET-732. I had the previous model before hand. They work great IMHO and free me from a lot of manual checking when I'm doing other things around the house or working in the indoor kitchen.

Handy tools. I do have to say I'm a big fan of ordering the longer heavier duty probes they sell.