Reheating Ribs

Gerry D.

TVWBB Pro
I'm going to be cooking for an event and I need a way to keep ribs warm without drying them out. I will be using sterno and foil pans. I know that I will need to keep some liquid in the pan. I was thinking apple juice or chicken stock but how do I keep them from getting mushy also? I'm going to cook the ribs a day or two before and then reheat on site. I'm new to this catering thing. First time making ribs for a big event.

Aloha Gerry... Last July I "catered" my son's and his wife's wedding reception. I smoked 108 slabs of ribs on Saturday, and wrapped in foil and placed in refrigerator overnight. I reheated the ribs, unwrapped, in 4 Kettles. I also rotissed a 120 lb hog and three 14 lb briskets on Saturday, then reheated them in a La Caja China.

Joe, just curious, what did you use to smoke 108 Racks of Ribs on? And, How do you like the La Caja China? Did you ever use it for Butts/Brisket, Whole hog?

Bill... I have a 24x48 Gator w/ upright, and I used 4 "after-market" rib racks. Did several batches. Briskets were done in my WSMs. The La Caja China works good but never did a whole hog, works great for turkeys, and roasts and butts. The sheet metal work is too thin on the lid and tray for the fire. For a smaller whole hog w/o the head it would work as advertised. However I prefer to rotisserie the hog, I have three spit roasters of which two will handle whole hogs up to 150 lb hogs. I built them from salvaged materials. They won't win any beauty contest but they work like a charm.