Pork Butt vs. Pork Picnic - Head to Head

Benny L.

TVWBB Fan
Well, I'm giving this a try. I'm far from a pro, but I wanted to see for myself whether I prefer Butt or Picnic (or if I can even tell a difference).

This afternoon I purchased a 9lb Picnic ($1.18/ lb) and an 8lb Butt ($1.78/lb) with the thought of seasoning and cooking them side by side. I trimmed the rind/skin/whatever you call it from the Picnic, but I left nearly all of the soft fat on both. (Mmmmmm, delicious pork fat...
icon_smile.gif
) I rubbed both with a mix of turbinado sugar, New Mexico red and green chile powder, salt, garlic and onion powder, marjoram, allspice, and cinnamon.

I fired a chimney of about 15 briquettes at 10:00pm, then at 10:30 I tossed the lit onto a full ring of K, added two chunks of apple and one of cherry wood (what I had on hand), and assembled the smoker with meat and probe. I'm shooting to have my temp stabilized by midnight, but I'm sort of on a late night schedule now anyway so I'm in no particular hurry.

Anyhow, just thought I'd share a cook with you guys, and maybe offer some notes for the Butt vs. Picnic discussion. We'll see how this goes...
icon_wink.gif

CLICKABLE THUMBNAIL PICS

Packaged Pork:

Trimmed:

Rubbed:

On the Smoker:

You go Benny, can't wait to hear your findings. Nice pics, hope your cook goes without a hitch for you.
wsmsmile8gm.gif

5:00am and all's well. The smoker has been chugging away right around 225 all night... I like to take my butts nice and slow until morning, then kick the temp up a bit if I need once I can monitor the cook. Back to bed for me.

PS:

HAPPY FATHERS DAY to all the dads out there! Hope you get to EAT and/or COOK whatever you like, and you get to spend some nice time with your families.

Haha, you guys crack me up.
icon_smile.gif
Wife took the laptop with her to work, so I couldn't get online. I did kept up the cook and the photos, so here are the results: