Plate short ribs

LMichaels

TVWBB 2-Star Olympian
So I have a slab of plate short ribs on the Wolf. These are the full bone before they cut them down to stewing size. Seasoning is only S&P. But posing a question I put them on just like this
569g9mW.jpg

But, I am wondering...........would they do better had I separated them into individual bones? I am a little worried about time as I only have about 4 to 5 hours to cook them. Estimating grill temp at about 300 with generous smoke BTW.
Thoughts? Obviously I just put them on about 20 minutes ago so I could still take them off and separate them. (BTW these are 4 bones)

I am not an expert but I think I would stick with plan A. If after four hours they aren’t as close as you hope then maybe cut up. But I would wrap them in butcher paper if you do before putting them back on because I would worry about them getting too dry.

Yeah kinda my thought. I am actually considering wrapping them now about 90 minutes in. Since I think I have all the smoke I am going to get on them anyway. Thinking about using parchment (basically same as butcher paper) and then covering that with foil so I don't have any aluminum concerns of being in direct contact with the food. Also considering getting a cocktail together for the last 2 hours or so of the cook to I can also enjoy a delightful beverage along with our truly delightful early Feb weather we have today

Larry, a little late to the party, but I think you have a good plan.
I was thinking of doing some ribs today with this great weather but I had a lot of fluid plans that I didn't want to push off to mind a grill so I decided against it. Now that all my chores are about done, I have nothing to eat and a few hours until the game starts.

Let us know how your ribs turn out.