Olive oil vs canola oil as base for rib rub

Scott B (nj)

TVWBB Member
Hey there-

I'm new to smoking ribs - for some odd reason I tackled brisket as my first BBQ conquest - and I have a question.

My first batch of ribs came out great. The rub was the prefect compliment to the smokeyness and the BBQ sauce finish. I used canola oil as a base for the rub.

My next few batches have not been as successful. All I'm getting is BBQ sauce and smoke. The rub is a faint taste, if it's there at all. I also happened to switch to olive oil on these two.

The question I have is... Could olive oil be sucking the flavor out of the rub when compared to the canola oil? Literally everything else is unchanged. Based solely on that, I would surmise that it's the olive oil, but that just doesn't make sense.

Id love to get some feedback from the board on this. Thanks!

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Why are you using oil in the first place? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Was wondering the same thing...

Apply the rub directly to the meat. The oil may be acting as a barrier and carrying the rub away as it drips.

And drip it will.

Nothing is needed for rub to stick. Salt in the rub will draw moisture facilitating sticking. I salt meat first, separately, wait several minutes for the salt to draw moisture, then apply whatever rub I've made (I make all without salt) over the rub. This lets me salt as much or as little as I wish and apply as much or as little rub as I want as they are independent of each other.

This is great... Thank you guys. I'd say about 75% of recipes I've encountered recommend using an oil to help the flavor penetrate deeper than the surface of the meat. I will definitely have to give a run of it w/o oil.