New, need convincing and have questions

Chris Sully

TVWBB Member
Hello, I have been looking around the forum and it seems to be a great site, so I will pose some questions (some probably pretty lame) and see where I end up.

I am new to BBQ (cooking, not eating) and am in the market for a smoker. I went to a BBQ festival in Southern California and met a guy that was a Traeger rep. He almost had me sold, but I like researching. I posed the question "which smoker would be best for me?" on another forum and many said the WSM. so here I am.

I like the idea of the pellet grils, set it and forget it, but I also like the tradition of making fire and tending it.

Here are my questions for you.

1. Why the WSM over a pellet smoker like Traeger or Green Mountain Grills? other than price.

2. Is charcoal safe? I though it had a lot of chemicals and junk in it that could be bad for your health. or is the 100% natural better?

3. 18.5" or 22.5" I have a wife and 2 kids (3yr and 6 month). I will have friends over, but not all that many too often.

I am sure I will have more, but this is a good start.

Thanks,
Chris

1) A local BBQ store in my town is a huge Traiger pusher, every time I go in he wants to talk to me about them, but here's my thing - With the WSM you can adjust how much wood/smoke flavor you give the meat. With the pellet grill, the smoke and heat source is the same (pellets), and you can't really adjust accordingly IMO. Now don't get me wrong, I've had some food he's cooked off it, and it's wonderful. Secondly, even though they are set it and forget it, something about mixing electrical parts w/ fire, I dunno, a buddy of mine has one and won't leave it unattended in case malfunction (which happened to a buddy of his).

2) I'm assuming you are comparing briquettes to lump charcoal. Either way, I use lump exclusive, although I'm sure the answer would be as long as either are in well ventilated area you are fine.

3) 18.5