New member and I am so happy to be here!

TateS

Hello all!

I'm Tate from FL and last week my wife totally caught me by surprise and got be an 18.5" WSM for my birthday. I 'm already a Weber lover between my Spirit for regular quick weeknight dinner grilling and little smokey joe that I've have a fun time using just for small stuff when I want to experiment with charcoal. But the WSM is a VERY welcome addition and I have always been interested in meat smoking so I can't wait to get started now that I have such a quality unit to work with. Super happy and excited to have found this community and I am looking forward to getting going soon!

My first question is what you all think a good first cook would be? My issue is that my wife doesn't eat red meat, and only eats pork sparingly. Since she was the one that gifted the WSM to me, I'd obviously love to include her in the spoils of the first cook! Would love any suggestions! Anything else a total newbie needs to know would also be appreciated!

Thank you all.

Welcome!!

Hot and fast chicken always breaks it in nicely. I did wings as my first cook but any chicken will do. Hot for crispy skin - so no water pan and flaming hot coals. All vents open.

Welcome, Tate. What a great birthday gift that will give back in spades for many, many years!!! (I always had to gift myself my own grills!) :)

Chris has it right with chicken. Hot/fast is a great option, as is low/slow if you want to also use it as practice for managing traditional smoking temps on the WSM. Our illustrious host has a bunch of poultry recipes HERE, which also include detailed instructions on setting up the WSM, and managing the temps with the vents.

Any way you go, that's a great plan to keep your wife happy/engaged. Smoked chicken is excellent, and any leftovers have lots of great uses (salad topper, chicken salad sandwich, tacos, enchiladas, etc.)

Enjoy the new toy!

Rich