Need Help QUICK.

Drew Baker

I am a newb, considering buying a WSM tomorrow. I found it used, on Craigslist. My question is: is there anything in particular that I should be looking at to make sure that even though it is used it is still going to smoke just like all of yours will?

The guy said his wife finally just put her foot down that he had too many grills (3), and he had to sell something. He has seemed pretty straight up with me, and has said that he kept it in his garage. ItIS a post 2009 model, 18.5, so it's got the new improvements as well. He's got it listed for 200, but I talked him to 160 (okay deal?)

Any thoughts? Things I should look for to make sure it's in good working order? Any worries with buying a used one?

Going to see it tomorrow morning, so I gotta know pretty soon. Thanks!!

Just make sure the porcelain isn't chipped, and that all the pieces seat together. If they don't seat evenly it's a sign of a condition called "out of round" and it may affect the performance.

160 is decent for a used 2009+ model but a bit on the high side imo.

If it is post 2009, he should include the cover.

For 160 bucks, I would expect it to be in great shape: in other words, you should have no concerns with ANYTHING if you are paying that much. Grates should be clean, no chips, no out of round, straight legs, etc. If you have any concern about grates, start knocking down the price by twenty bucks a grate or twenty bucks a leg.

Obviously check the round condition of the chamber against both the bowl and the lid. Spinning them around sometimes makes it easier to spot where they are out of round. This will also make the seller think you are crazy.

Look at the charcoal bowl. How clean is it. That is a sign of how well someone cares for their WSM. (ie is there a rust ring from water sitting on ash). They are easy to keep clean, and easy to clean if they are merely not let to collect water.