need advice about slight dryness in babybacks...

Hey guys,

I've been making ribs for a few months now, and I'm having a blast with my wsm 22. The last few times I've cooked, I've had more stability and temp control, but the babybacks im making are coming out just a little bit dry. They are still delicious, but I can't figure out what's going wrong. Here's how I do it:

1) I put the ribs on when the smoker reaches about 220 degrees (I use a maverick digital thermometer). I cook with kingsford, with sand in the pan, and I have only been using the top grate.

2) I leave the ribs on the smoker with dry rub for 2 hours with the temp floating between 225 and 240.

3) At the two hour mark, I place the ribs in wrapped foil with brown sugar and let them cook for 3 more hours.

4) After the 3 hours in foil (5 total), I unwrap them, apply sauce, and let them sit for 10 to 15 minutes so the sauce thickens.... still around 225.

When I take them off they are very tasty, and almost fall off the bone, but just a bit dry. Any idea what could be going on here? THANKS!!!

I dont have mutch xp with foiling done it a few times but i still think my best ribs comes unfoiled.

And 3H in foil that sounds ALOT.

I would try changing 1 thing at the time to perfect your ribs.

The 3-2-1 is used by many ppl
or you can tweak it abit after own taste
3h unfoiled - 1-1.5h foiled - 0.5-1h to get the bark back on track.

If they are dry they need to be pulled of sooner,for reference next time pull 1 slab sooner and leave 1 on and se what you think about texture/moist/flavour.

But i shouldent give advice on foiled ribs couse i dont do it myself.

Baby backs aren't near as tough as spares, so just try pulling sooner. If there's a little tug to 'em, I guarantee they'll be a little juicier. Heck, most folks grill 'em, anyway.

Also, I'd try cooking over 300 ala Kevin Kruger method. I tried his method last week with some spares, and if it wouldn't have been for the phospates in the "enhanced ribs"