Marinaded Pork Loin

B. Kaylor

TVWBB Fan
A friend ask me to smoke a pork loin for him for Thanksgiving. I'll be doing the cook the week before, and will cool, wrap and freeze the meat. I found a Marinade reciepe in Mike Mills' Peace, Love & BBQ that I'll try, but I was wondering: can (used) marinade safely be saved, boiled for 5 minutes, cooled and then added to the meat for re-heating? I know that I have read this somewhere, but cannot recall where. I want to be safe, and if there is a question, I'll just make another batch for re-heating.

Also, any suggestions for the re-heat? Times....Temps...tented or not?? I'm still pretty new to this and have not cooked a loin on the WSM yet.

Thanks to all!!!

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">can (used) marinade safely be saved, boiled for 5 minutes, cooled and then added to the meat for re-heating? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yes.

Loins have little fat. They are best cooked to a low internal for finish. And they do not need low/slow to get them there. Reheating (method and implementation) will depend on how you or your friend plan on serving. More details would be needed.

Brad, yes you can boil it but... I just always make new, I'm wierd like that though. If you have a vac sealer, that's your best bet for re-heating IMO. Make sure you don't over cook the loin and allow for carry over heat after removing it off the WSM. You'll get at least 5º prob a little more of carry over heat. I'd pull and wrap tight in foil for about an hr then open up foil drain off drippings and save, then cool loin to room temp. Place loin in fridge, foil still open and let get fridge temp. Slice and add saved drippings to vac bags and seal up. Reheat in hot water for 20-30 min and brush with the marinade, or a nice glaze right before plating. HTH

Thanks Kevin and Bryan!