Just ordered my weber

Norman Stein

Hi everyone,

I just ordered a WSM from amazon, it should be here by wednesday at the latest.

I'm planning on doing ribs this coming weekend, I was wondering if there is a break in burn that I need to do, and if there is, how long. I would have to do it thursday or friday night to be ready for ribs on saturday.

Also, i'm a rookie at this, I used an offset smoker last year, and it took all season to make good ribs. Any suggestions on a method to use, on the offset i used the minion method.

I use lump charcoal, how many chimneys should I use for an anticipated 6 hour cook time.

I'd appreciate any additional tips or suggestions you may have.

Oh, almost forgot, i'm in NY, so the temp will probably be around 50 or so on saturday.

Thanks,

Norm

Norman, a new WSM cooks hotter because the smoke and grease has not built up inside on the shiny surface. It will build up after a few long cooks and you'll be better able to rely on temps, but you don't really need a test cook. Also remember lump cooks hotter than briquettes so mind your temps as they go up which is easier than getting them to go down. Usually a chimney full of hot coals and a chimney full of unlit on top of the lit will suffice for your rib cook. WSM's can hold temps a LONG time with not too much fuel. See this link for baby backs ribs. Easy on the smoke wood, just 2 or 3 fist sized chunks of a usually mild wood. Your ribs are ready when you can pass a toothpick through the meat between the bones and the texture is like butter. Look around the site--there's tons of information on ribs. Good luck and keep us posted on your results.

Welcome Norman