I got tired of paying a lot for a little bit of wood. so ... .

StanSulli

TVWBB Fan
Hi,

I've been using a propane smoker lately. I'm still learning it, but all in all I like it a lot.

But it sure does go through wood fast. Smoking a chicken with propane takes 3-4 times more wood than my Weber Smokey Mountain did and paying $6-$10 for those little bags of wood chunks at the big box stores got old fast.

Thank goodness for Craigslist. I found a new in box electric chainsaw for $50, a used, portable workbench with a vise (for holding wood) and a guy selling smoking wood, $20 for a big wheelbarrow full.

I brought a huge beer/food cooler to him and he filled it until we couldn't close the lid for $10.

The wood was thick oak wood splits between one and two feet long. Over the weekend, I cut them all vertically into good sized chunks. It looks to me like I have what would have cost me $200 or more worth of wood had I bought wood chunks at one of the big box stores.

The only other expense was a box of heavy duty construction bags to keep all those the wood chunks in.

The amount of smoking wood I have on hand now is worth (at big box prices) three to four times what I paid for the equipment and I can use the equipment for other things too!

I'm still very surprised at the amount of wood the propane smoker uses. I estimate that the cost of propane fuel is about equal to what I paid for charcoal to run my WSM. But wood? Forget it! The WSM is a wood miser compared to what this propane smoker uses.

I understand. Completely.

I've started buying bagged "chunks" from a local firewood company. Still... $40 for forty pounds seems a bit pricey. However they have a great selection.
Am considering buying a quarter of a cord from them & cutting/splitting it to the size I like.

why does a propane smoker require that much more wood?

Tommy,