Help - new Genesis or previous model?

PaulSomm

I’m pretty new to Weber grills and am hoping to get some advice. I’m looking to buy a new grill (thinking about a S335 or S435, but still going back and forth) and I’ve seen the lack of enthusiasm about the new 2022 Genesis line of grills here. It looks like there are still some of the previous (pre-2022) Genesis grills floating around. Which of the two do you think is the better product? Should I get the brand new 2022 Genesis or one of the previous generation ones? Thanks for any help.

Last edited:
I believe the OP is looking for advice on which new Weber grill he should buy. I’m not in a position to give him correct information on new Weber grills.

Paul, you are going to find that a lot of the members here much prefer the older Weber grills dating back 15+ years. But there are still a lot newer Weber owners as well. If you have a little time and a few tools, I suggest you consider rehabbing a old Genesis Silver B or Genesis 1000. But, if you just want the newer offerings, that is cool. If you pick up one of the 2022 models, let us know how you like it and take some photos and post a review of it.

Having not seen the new one in person, I can’t say anything about perceived build quality or anything like that.

I have looked at the previous gen numerous times, almost convinced myself into a Deep Ocean Blue one, but got to thinking it would sit largely unused like my other two gassers.

If I were in the market for a gasser, the previous gen would 100% buy and not even worry about it. It’s built fairly solid (nothing new is built as well as older ones, it is what it is) and is a fine cooler I’m sure. The new one I would suspect is similar with a couple extra doodads.