Had some BAD Q today

Jeff S

TVWBB Pro
I went to the Smokey Pig today despite the bad review I read here.

All of my coworkers told me how good it was regardless of what this said.

The owner told me the shoulder was good when I was ordering. That is what I ordered. It was horrible!

Sliced butt that was so dry and tough, it was like eating over done country ham. Like this article says, this guy is way proud of his sauce. WAY TOO hot and lends NO compliment to the meat. Speaking of, the meat has no smoke flavor. Wonder if he fried it?
Anyway, the point of my post, does anyone else Q shoulder this way? Thin and chewy.....people here tell me it is the towns best. I may need to move!

My friend, I've been judging KCBS competitions for a few years now, and I have eaten some real fine BBQ

However, there was a time that I liked going to Applebees for the all you can eat Riblets, and I enjoyed Lloyd's prepackaged ribs. I think I was like your friends - in terms of good barbecue, I didn't know $hit from shinola.

I can't go to most Q joints anymore - but I can do up some fine stuff for you.

Don't eat barbecue in restaurants - with rare exceptions, you will be disapointed
icon_frown.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Don't eat barbecue in restaurants - with rare exceptions, you will be disapointed </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
I agree with Rich. After I got my WSM and made my own, I have not found any restaurant that even comes close.... and I used to think a few local Q joints were pretty good.... but I have a new standard!

Ray

ITA, after I started making my own Q, I learned how BBQ should be. I discovered that the BBQ restaurants that I had thought were pretty good were actually quite awful.