Getting Started with a Restoration - Genesis Gold

DaveFB

I've been reading through the forum and watching CL diligently for a couple months now. I finally saw something locally and for the bargain price of almost nothing I now own a fixer-upper Genesis Gold C.

The seller reported that the igniter doesn't work and the burners might need to be replaced. I also understood that there was fire at the location of the front burner knob - the back of the knob is slightly melted. Not sure if that's what was meant by a burner problem.

Visual inspection shows that the grates are possibly in OK condition. The flavorizer bars appear to be shot and in need of replacement. I haven't looked closely at the burners yet but they appear to be in decent shape. I'm prepared to replace if necessary. There is some minor paint loss on the outsides of the fire box. The cart appears to be in A-1 condition.

It's probably way premature to post since the restoration will probably take a while - I'm a noob and only have so much free time - but I'm sufficiently excited to do it anyway.

The rough plan, as it stands now:

1. Locate model information, year, etc. Download and read user manual front to back and back to front. Study replacement procedures to get an idea of what's going to be involved.

1a. Go back and reread all the restoration threads I can find!

2. Do a more detailed review of what parts are going to need to be replaced. Are the grates OK with a good cleaning? I'm thinking that a leak test will be in order for hoses and connections. Depending on how that goes, will have to figure out if I'm ready to light it up to see how the burners are.

3. Call Weber and order parts (Might look @ Home Depot if I have gift cards)

4. Clean it up (and wait for parts to arrive)

5. Replace operational parts, flavorizers, etc.

6. Last but not least a little high heat paint for the exterior.

Advice, tips and comments welcome.

Pic:
imag0076lp.jpg